Forums Club Ed Editors’ Forum Advice please – re-editing something already edited by a professional

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Adrienne Pond
      Participant

Hi everyone. How are you all doing?

I got a terrific editing job this week. I studied photojournalism a couple years back and went to Prague with one professor. He is a well-known, well-respected photographer/writer. He has been interviewing and photographing Holocaust survivors for many years. He is working on his book to be published this year, if things stay on track. It’s really a phenomenal project and he has traveled the world preparing for it. He called me up and said he lost his editor and would I take over. I said yes, of course. I asked him to send me the profiles that his previous editor had done, as well as the next group that is ready to be edited. I come to find out that the previous editor is a former professor of mine and a world-famous investigative journalist who has also edited for major newspapers/magazines, etc. So I expected the already edited ones to be flawless; and I wanted to stay consistent with what has already been done. I just read through one of them and found many glaring problems. I have no choice but to take this back to the author because it presents a problem for how I will edit. I have nothing but the utmost respect for the former editor (my former professor) and the countless articles and books he has written over a very successful career. But I will be pointing out some mistakes of his and also requesting permission to re-edit everything he already did.

It’s a sticky situation that I never imagined myself in. The author and former editor are good friends and I’m sure no money passed between them for this. The author is a friend of mine and I even offered to do all of this for a signed first edition and a testimonial. He’s offered some money too, though we are keeping it loose and I’m fine with that because of who he is.